What is a penetration test - ProgrammerTech
Language:

Search

What is a penetration test

  • Share this:
What is a penetration test

Penetration testing is the deliberate use of technical tools to test an enterprise's safety and the strength of those tools when placed in the hands of a skilled and determined attacker. Penetration tests and legal attempts to defeat the institution's security controls and carry out unauthorized activities are permitted. People who undergo a breakthrough test are identified as real attackers who will try to endanger the organization. Attackers and testers seek to undermine these goals and achieve their own.

Disclosure : Attacks for unauthorized access to information or systems.

Change : Attacks to make unauthorized changes to information or systems.

Reasons for penetration test? 

The modern organization devotes a lot of time, energy, and funding to a variety of security controls and activities. We install firewalls, intrusion prevention systems, security information, event management devices, vulnerability scanners and many other tools. The staff of the Security Operations Centers (SOC ) work 24 hours to monitor these technologies and our systems, networks, and applications for reconciliation signals

Why do we want to take the extra burden of doing penetration tests? 

The answer to this question is that the hack test provides us with a clear view of the institution's security situation and is simply not available by other means 

Penetration testing does not seek to replace all other cybersecurity activities of the organization. Instead, they complement and build upon these efforts. Penetration testing bring their unique skills and perspectives and can use safety tools and put them into the attacker's mentality, asking if I'm an attacker, how can I use this information for my own good?

Benefits of penetration testing? 

Above all, the Penetration testing provides us with knowledge she can't get elsewhere. In comprehensive penetration tests, we learn whether an attacker with the same knowledge, skills, and information as our testers will likely be able to penetrate our defenses. If they cannot access the network, we can say that our networks are safe against an attack by Threat agent.

Second, if the attackers succeed, the penetration test provides the institution with an important treatment scheme. As cybersecurity professionals, we can track our testers' procedures as they progress through the different stages of the attack and close the chain of open doors our testers passed through. This provides us with a more robust defense against future attacks to keep our network safer.

Who is conducting penetration tests? 

Penetration testing is a highly skilled system , and institutions often try out hack testers for their testing efforts. If you don't have experience doing penetration tests, it doesn't mean losing all hope. You may be able to participate in a test under the supervision of an experienced penetration laboratory, or you may be able to perform a penetration test in your institution simply because no one with experience is available to take the test.

Internal penetration test team 

Internal penetration testing teams consist of cybersecurity professionals from within the organization who conduct penetration tests on the organization's systems and applications. This team may conduct the hack test on a full-time basis or may be performed periodically for full-time testing. There are two main benefits of using internal teams to conduct a penetration test .

First, they have contextual knowledge of the organization that can improve the effectiveness of testing.

Secondly, taking a test using internal staff is generally less expensive than hacking a hack test company.

External penetration test team 

External penetration test teams are assigned for the express purpose of conducting the penetration test. They may come from a public cybersecurity consulting firm or a company specializing in hack testing. These individuals are usually highly skilled in conducting penetration tests because they perform these tests all day and every day. When you hire a professional penetration testing team , you generally benefit from using highly talented attackers.

Planning and scoping 

Testers and their customers must have a clear understanding of what will happen during the penetration test , identify clear rules for participation, and identify systems, data, processes, and activities that fall within the approved scope of the test. There is a fine line between penetration test and hacking, and a written working statement with a clear mandate for hack test activities is critical to ensure testers remain on the right side of the law and meet the customer's expectations.

Reporting and reporting of results 

Once the excitement has passed from the stage of attack and exploitation, the work of the great test team is not yet complete. One of the prerequisites for a successful hack test is that it provides useful information to the customer about the security of their IT environment . This should take the form of clear and actionable recommendations to implement new security controls and strengthen existing ones.

Cyber ​​Kill Chain 

The hack test model is an important way for hack testers to organize their activities. This model describes the complexity of attackers who usually organize their work: Cyber Kill Chain

the-Cyber-Kill-Chain
Cyber Kill Chain  

 

Reconnaissance/ Information gathering   

The Cyber Kill Chain directly identifies the information collection phase and identifies weaknesses in the penetration test process. During this phase, the attackers collect open-source intelligence ( OSINT ) and conduct preliminary surveys of the target environment to discover possible avenues for exploitation.

Weaponizations 

After completion of the attack reconnaissance phase, the attackers move on to the remaining six steps, which extend to the attack and exploitation phase of the penetration test process. The first phase is Weaponizations. During this phase, attackers develop a specific attack tool designed to exploit the weaknesses identified during the survey. They often use automated toolkits to develop a series of malware specifically designed to penetrate their target.

Delivery 

After developing and testing the malware weapon, attackers must then deliver this malware or exploitation to the target. This may happen by a variety of means, including exploiting a network or application security gap, carrying out a social engineering attack, distributing malware to an infected USB drive or other media, sending it as an email attachment, or by other means.

Exploitation 

Once the malware is delivered to the target enterprise, the attacker, or victim takes some action that leads to the malware load, and begins the exploitation phase of the Cyber Kill Chain . During this phase, malware gains access to the target system. This may occur when the victim opens a harmful file or when the attacker exploits a security vulnerability across the network or gains a foothold on the target network.

Installation 

The initial installation of malware is designed only to enable temporary access to the target system. During the next phase of the Cyber Kill Chain installation , the attacker uses the initial access provided by malware to create permanent or permanent access to the target system. For this reason, many people describe the goal of this phase as the stabilization of perseverance in the target environment. Attackers may create a continuation by creating a back door that allows them to return to the system at a later date, by creating login entries that reopen access once it closes to the administrator, or by installing a web cover that allows them to access the system via a standard HTTPS connection.

Command and Control 

After creating continuous access to the system and target network, the attacker may then use a remote rocket or other means of remote control of the hacked system. The attacker may manually control the system using the casing or may connect it to a control network and control mechanism (C2C ) that provides guidance. This automated approach is common in distributed deprivation attacks (DDoS ) where the attacker simultaneously directs the actions of thousands of hacked systems, known as robots.

Actions on Objectives 

With the command and control creation mechanism , the attacker can then use the system to promote the original targets of his attack. This may involve switching from a hacked system to other systems run by the same enterprise, and effectively restarting the Cyber Kill Chain . The target action phase of an attack may also involve the theft of sensitive information, unauthorized use of computing resources to engage in denial-of-service attacks or cryptocurrency mining, unauthorized modification or deletion of information.

ما هو اختبار الاختراق - ProgrammerTech
Language:

Search

ما هو اختبار الاختراق

  • Share this:
ما هو اختبار الاختراق

اختبار الاختراق هو الاستخدام المتعمد للأدوات التقنية لاختبار سلامة المؤسسة وقوة تلك الأدوات عند وضعها في يد مهاجم ماهر وحازم. يُسمح باختبارات الاختراق والمحاولات القانونية لهزيمة الضوابط الأمنية للمؤسسة وتنفيذ أنشطة غير مصرح بها. يتم تحديد الأشخاص الذين يخضعون لاختبار الاختراق على أنهم مهاجمون حقيقيون سيحاولون تعريض المنظمة للخطر. يسعى المهاجمون والمختبرون إلى تقويض هذه الأهداف وتحقيق ألأهداف الخاصة بهم.

 الإفصاح : الهجمات للوصول غير المصرح به إلى المعلومات أو الأنظمة.

التغيير : هجمات لإجراء تغييرات غير مصرح بها على المعلومات أو الأنظمة.

أسباب اختبار الاختراق؟

تكرس المنظمة الحديثة الكثير من الوقت والطاقة والتمويل لمجموعة متنوعة من الضوابط والأنشطة الأمنية  نقوم بتثبيت جدران الحماية وأنظمة منع التسلل والمعلومات الأمنية وأجهزة إدارة الأحداث وأجهزة مسح الثغرات الأمنية والعديد من الأدوات الأخرى. يعمل موظفو مراكز العمليات الأمنية على مدار 24 ساعة (SOC) لمراقبة هذه التقنيات ومراقبة أنظمتنا وشبكاتنا وتطبيقاتنا لإشارات التسوية.

لماذا نريد تحمل العبء الإضافي لإجراء اختبارات الاختراق؟

 

الإجابة على هذا السؤال هي أن اختبار الاختراق يوفر لنا رؤية واضحة للوضع الأمني ​​للمؤسسة وهو ببساطة غير متوفر بوسائل أخرى   

لا يسعى اختبار الاختراق إلى استبدال جميع أنشطة الأمن السيبراني الأخرى للمؤسسة. وبدلاً من ذلك، فإنها تكمل هذه الجهود وتبني عليها. يجلب مختبرو الاختراق مهاراتهم ووجهات نظرهم الفريدة ويمكنهم استخدام أدوات السلامة ووضعها في عقلية المهاجم، ويسألون عما إذا كنت مهاجمًا، كيف يمكنني استخدام هذه المعلومات لمصلحتي؟.

فوائد اختبار الاختراق؟

 

قبل كل شيء، يوفر لنا اختبار الاختراق معرفة لا يمكنها الحصول عليها في مكان آخر. في اختبارات الاختراق الشاملة، نتعلم ما إذا كان المهاجم الذي يتمتع بنفس المعرفة والمهارات والمعلومات مثل المختبرين لدينا سيتمكن على الأرجح من اختراق دفاعاتنا. إذا لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى الشبكة، فيمكننا القول إن شبكاتنا آمنة ضد هجوم من قبل Threat agent.

ثانيًا، إذا نجح المهاجمون، فإن اختبار الاختراق يوفر للمؤسسة مخططًا علاجيًا مهمًا. بصفتنا متخصصين في الأمن السيبراني، يمكننا تتبع إجراءات المختبرين لدينا خلال تقدمهم خلال المراحل المختلفة من الهجوم وإغلاق سلسلة الأبواب المفتوحة التي مر بها المختبرين لدينا. يوفر لنا هذا دفاعًا أكثر قوة ضد الهجمات المستقبلية للحفاظ على شبكتنا أكثر أمانًا.

من يجري اختبارات الاختراق؟


اختبار الاختراق هو نظام عالي المهارة، وغالبًا ما تحاول المؤسسات تجربة مختبري الاختراق لجهودهم الاختبارية. إذا لم تكن لديك خبرة في إجراء اختبارات الاختراق، فهذا لا يعني فقدان كل الأمل. قد تتمكن من المشاركة في اختبار تحت إشراف مختبر اختراق متمرس، أو قد تتمكن من إجراء اختبار اختراق في مؤسستك لمجرد عدم توفر أي شخص لديه خبرة لإجراء الاختبار.

فريق اختبار الاختراق الداخلي:

تتكون فرق اختبار الاختراق الداخلي من متخصصين في الأمن السيبراني من داخل المنظمة يجرون اختبارات الاختراق على أنظمة المؤسسة وتطبيقاتها. يجوز لهذا الفريق إجراء اختبار الاختراق على أساس التفرغ أو قد يتم إجراؤه بشكل دوري للاختبار بدوام كامل. هناك فائدتان رئيسيتان لاستخدام الفرق الداخلية لإجراء اختبار الاختراق.

أولاً، لديهم معرفة سياقية بالمنظمة يمكنها تحسين فعالية الاختبار.

ثانيًا، يعد إجراء اختبار باستخدام موظفين داخليين أقل تكلفة عمومًا من اختراق شركة اختبار الاختراق.

فريق اختبار الاختراق الخارجي

يتم تعيين فرق اختبار الاختراق الخارجي لغرض صريح لإجراء اختبار الاختراق. قد يأتون من شركة استشارية عامة للأمن السيبراني أو شركة متخصصة في اختبار الاختراق. عادة ما يكون هؤلاء الأفراد ذوي مهارات عالية في إجراء اختبارات الاختراق لأنهم يجرون هذه الاختبارات طوال اليوم وكل يوم. عندما توظف فريق اختبار اختراق محترف، فإنك تستفيد عمومًا من استخدام مهاجمين موهوبين للغاية.

التخطيط وتحديد النطاق 

يجب أن يكون لدى المختبرين وعملائهم فهم واضح لما سيحدث خلال اختبار الاختراق، وتحديد قواعد واضحة للمشاركة، وتحديد الأنظمة والبيانات والعمليات والأنشطة التي تقع ضمن النطاق المعتمد للاختبار. هناك خط رفيع بين اختبار الاختراق والقرصنة، وبيان عمل مكتوب يتضمن تفويضًا واضحًا لأنشطة اختبار الاختراق أمر بالغ الأهمية لضمان بقاء المختبرين في الجانب الصحيح من القانون وتلبية توقعات العميل.

الإبلاغ عن النتائج ونقلها

 
بمجرد مرور الإثارة من مرحلة الهجوم والاستغلال، لم يكتمل عمل فريق الاختبار الرائع بعد. أحد الشروط الأساسية لاختبار الاختراق الناجح هو أنه يوفر معلومات مفيدة للعميل حول أمان بيئة تكنولوجيا المعلومات الخاصة به. وينبغي أن يتخذ ذلك شكل توصيات واضحة وقابلة للتنفيذ لتنفيذ ضوابط أمنية جديدة وتعزيز الضوابط القائمة.

Cyber ​​Kill Chain


يعد نموذج اختبار الاختراق طريقة مهمة لمختبري الاختراق لتنظيم أنشطتهم. يصف هذا النموذج مدى تعقيد المهاجمين الذين ينظمون عملهم عادةً: Cyber Kill Chain ؟   

the-Cyber-Kill-Chain
Cyber Kill Chain    

Reconnaissance/ Information gathering

تحدد مرحلة المسح الخاصة (Cyber Kill Chain) مباشرة مرحلة جمع المعلومات وتحدد نقاط الضعف في عملية اختبار الاختراق. وخلال هذه المرحلة، يجمع المهاجمون معلومات استخبارية مفتوحة المصدر(OSINT) ويجرون دراسات استقصائية أولية عن البيئة المستهدفة لاكتشاف السبل الممكنة للاستغلال.

Weaponizations

بعد الانتهاء من مرحلة استطلاع الهجوم، ينتقل المهاجمون إلى الخطوات الست المتبقية، التي تمتد إلى مرحلة الهجوم والاستغلال من عملية اختبار الاختراق. المرحلة الأولى هي Weaponizations. خلال هذه المرحلة، يطور المهاجمون أداة هجوم محددة مصممة لاستغلال نقاط الضعف الذي تم تحديدها خلال المسح. غالبًا ما يستخدمون مجموعات أدوات آلية لتطوير سلسلة من البرامج الضارة المصممة خصيصًا لاختراق هدفهم.

Delivery

بعد تطوير واختبار سلاح البرامج الضارة، يجب على المهاجمين بعد ذلك تسليم تلك البرامج الضارة أو الاستغلال إلى الهدف. قد يحدث هذا بواسطة مجموعة متنوعة من الوسائل، بما في ذلك استغلال فجوة أمان الشبكة أو التطبيق، وتنفيذ هجوم هندسي اجتماعي، وتوزيع البرامج الضارة على محرك أقراص USB المصاب أو وسائل الإعلام الأخرى، وإرسالها كمرفق بريد إلكتروني، أو بواسطة وسائل أخرى.

Exploitation

بمجرد تسليم البرنامج الضار إلى المؤسسة المستهدفة، يتخذ المهاجم أو الضحية بعض الإجراءات التي تؤدي إلى تحميل البرامج الضارة، ويبدأ مرحلة الاستغلال في Cyber Kill Chain. خلال هذه المرحلة، تكتسب البرامج الضارة إمكانية الوصول إلى النظام المستهدف. قد يحدث هذا عندما يفتح الضحية ملفًا ضارًا أو عندما يستغل المهاجم ثغرة أمنية عبر الشبكة أو يكتسب موطئ قدم على الشبكة المستهدفة.

Installation

والتركيب الأولي للبرمجيات الضارة مصمم فقط لتمكين الوصول المؤقت إلى النظام المستهدف. خلال المرحلة التالية من تركيب Cyber Kill Chain يستخدم المهاجم الوصول الأولي الذي توفره البرامج الضارة لإنشاء وصول دائم أو دائم إلى النظام المستهدف. ولهذا السبب، يصف كثير من الناس هدف هذه المرحلة بأنه تثبيت المثابرة في البيئة المستهدفة. قد ينشئ المهاجمون استمرارًا عن طريق إنشاء باب خلفي يسمح لهم بالعودة إلى النظام في وقت لاحق، أو عن طريق إنشاء إدخالات تسجيل الدخول الذي تعيد فتح الوصول بمجرد إغلاقه للمسؤول، أو عن طريق تثبيت غطاء ويب يسمح لهم بالوصول إلى النظام عبر اتصال HTTPS قياسي.

Command and Control

بعد إنشاء وصول مستمر إلى النظام والشبكة المستهدفة، قد يستخدم المهاجم بعد ذلك صاروخًا عن بعد أو وسائل أخرى للتحكم عن بعد في النظام المخترق. قد يتحكم المهاجم يدويًا في النظام باستخدام الغلاف أو قد يربطه بشبكة تحكم وتحكم آلية (C2C ) توفر التوجيه. هذا النهج الآلي شائع في هجمات الحرمان الموزعة (DDoS ) حيث يوجه المهاجم في نفس الوقت تصرفات الآلاف من الأنظمة المخترقة، والمعروفة باسم الروبوتات.

Actions on Objectives

مع آلية إنشاء القيادة والسيطرة، يمكن للمهاجم بعد ذلك استخدام النظام للترويج للأهداف الأصلية لهجومه. قد يتضمن ذلك التحول من نظام مخترق إلى أنظمة أخرى تديرها نفس المؤسسة، وإعادة تشغيل Cyber Kill Chain بشكل فعال. قد تنطوي مرحلة الإجراءات المتعلقة بالأهداف للهجوم أيضًا على سرقة معلومات حساسة، أو استخدام غير مصرح به لموارد الحوسبة للانخراط في هجمات رفض الخدمة أو تعدين العملات المشفرة، أو تعديل غير مصرح به أو حذف المعلومات.