What is the sizeof() function in C Programming ? - ProgrammerTech
Language:

Search

What is the sizeof() function in C Programming ?

  • Share this:
What is the sizeof() function in C Programming ?

sizeof() function in C Language

The function ( sizeof() ) is a function used to find the size of variables in memory in bytes of a variable or array and can be applied to any type of data including integers .... etc. We talked earlier about the data types that we learned earlier, which are int, double, float, char. In this lesson, we will learn about what is the size of each data type.

 

Using sizeof with an int data type

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    int x = 23;
    printf("size of x = %d\n", sizeof(x));
    return 0;
}

We create a variable of type int x and its value is 23 and then we print the word size of x is equal to. Then we put the function sizeof() to define the editor that we want the size of the variable x, then we ran the code and got the following result and its size is 4 bytes.

size of x = 4

 

Using sizeof with a data type double

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    double cs = 2.3;
    printf("size of cs = %d\n", sizeof(cs));
    return 0;
}

We created a variable of type double, cs, and its value is 2.3, and then we typed the word size of cs equal to . Then we set the function sizeof() to tell the editor that we want the size of the cs variable. Then we ran the code and got the following result and its size is 8 bytes.

size of cs = 8

 

Using sizeof with a float data type

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    float s = 3.2;
    printf("size of s = %d\n", sizeof(s));
    return 0;
}

We create a float variable of type s and its value is 3.2 and then we print the word size of s is equal to. Then we set the function sizeof() to tell the editor that we want the size of the variable s. Then we ran the code and got the following result and its size is 4 bytes.

size of s = 4

 

Using sizeof with a char data type

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    char c = 's';
    printf("size of c = %d\n", sizeof(c));
    return 0;
}

We have created a variable of type char which is c and its value is s because this type accepts only one character. Then we print the word size of c equal to and then set the function sizeof to tell the editor that we want the size of the variable c. Then we ran the code and got the following result and its size is 1 byte.

size of c = 1

 

Using sizeof with arrays

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    int array[3] = {1, 2, 3};
    printf("size of array = %d\n", sizeof(array));
    return 0;
}

We have created an array of type int and it is array and its size is 3 and its values ​​are 1, 2, 3 and then we print the word size of array equals. Then we put the function sizeof to define the editor that we want the size of the array then we ran the code and got the following result and its size is 12 bytes.

size of array = 12

Example that collects all data types via the sizeof function

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    int x = 23;
    double cs = 2.3;
    float s = 3.2;
    char c = 's';
    int array[3] = {1, 2, 3};
    printf("size of x = %d\n", sizeof(x));
    printf("size of cs = %d\n", sizeof(cs));
    printf("size of s = %d\n", sizeof(s));
    printf("size of c = %d\n", sizeof(c));
    printf("size of array = %d\n", sizeof(array));
    return 0;
}

We have explained all this in the examples and collected them for you in one code and when you run this code, the result will be

size of x = 4
size of cs = 8
size of s = 4
size of c = 1
size of array = 12

We can see from the previous output window that the size of a variable of type int is 4 bytes in memory, i.e. it reserves 4 bytes. A variable of type float also reserves 4 bytes in memory. As for the double variable, it reserves 8 bytes of memory, which is double the float because it is a double. The literal variable can only hold one character, so only 1 byte is reserved in memory. And in the end we put a number array with three values ​​and when printing it gave us that it reserves 12 bytes of memory. That is, because its type is int and the type int reserves 4 bytes of memory and it has three values ​​of type int, i.e. 4+4+4 equals 12.


Tags:
Saja Alsadig

Saja Alsadig

من السودان مبرمجة مواقع ويب و تطبيقات أندرويد اتقن لغات "html, css, php, js" بالإضافة للتعامل مع اندرويد ستوديو و بناء التطبيقات, مهتمة بمجال التقنية منذ الصغر و كان لدي شقف كبير للدخول بالجامعه بقسم البرمجة و دخلته في عام 2013 و تعلمت كل شيئ ضمن الجامعة و خارجها من التعليم الذاتي و اتمنى أن أكون عند حسن ظن الجميع و إيصال الأمانة لكم, اعمل حاليا في إدارة موقع جامعة السودان.

دالة sizeof لإيجاد حجم المتغيرات في الذاكرة في لغة C - ProgrammerTech
Language:

Search

دالة sizeof لإيجاد حجم المتغيرات في الذاكرة في لغة C

  • Share this:
دالة sizeof لإيجاد حجم المتغيرات في الذاكرة في لغة C

دالة sizeof في لغة C

دالة ( sizeof() ) هي دالة تُستخدَم لإيجاد حجم المُتغيرات في الذاكرة بالبايت لمتغير أو مصفوفة و يمكن تطبيقها على أي نوع من انواع البيانات بما في ذلك الأعداد الصحيحة ....الخ. تحدثنا سابقاً عن انواع البيانات التي تعلمناها سابقاً و هي int, double, float, char, سوف نتعرف في هذا الدرس عن ما هو الحجم الذي يختلف به كل نوع بيانات.

 

إستخدام sizeof مع نوع بيانات int

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    int x = 23;
    printf("size of x = %d\n", sizeof(x));
    return 0;
}

قُمنا بإنشاء متغير نوع int و هو x و قيمته هي 23 ثم قُمنا في طباعة كلمة size of x تساوي. ثم وضعنا الدالة sizeof() لتعريف المحرر أننا نريد حجم المُتغير x ثم شغلنا الكود و حصلنا على النتيجة الآتية و حجمه هو 4 بايت.

size of x = 4

 

إستخدام sizeof مع نوع بيانات double

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    double cs = 2.3;
    printf("size of cs = %d\n", sizeof(cs));
    return 0;
}

قُمنا بإنشاء متغير نوع double و هو cs و قيمته هي 2.3 ثم قُمنا بطباعة كلمة size of cs تساوي. ثم وضعنا الدالة sizeof() لتعريف المحرر أننا نريد حجم المُتغير cs. ثم شغلنا الكود و حصلنا على النتيجة الآتية و حجمه هو 8 بايت.

size of cs = 8

 

إستخدام sizeof مع نوع بيانات float

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    float s = 3.2;
    printf("size of s = %d\n", sizeof(s));
    return 0;
}

قُمنا بإنشاء متغير نوع float و هو s و قيمته هي 3.2 ثم قُمنا بطباعة كلمة size of s تساوي. ثم وضعنا الدالة sizeof() لتعريف المحرر أننا نريد حجم المُتغير s. ثم شغلنا الكود و حصلنا على النتيجة الآتية و حجمه هو 4 بايت.

size of s = 4

 

إستخدام sizeof مع نوع بيانات char

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    char c = 's';
    printf("size of c = %d\n", sizeof(c));
    return 0;
}

قُمنا بإنشاء متغير نوع char و هو c و قيمته هي s لأن هذا النوع يقبل حرف واحد فقط. ثم قُمنا بطباعة كلمة size of c تساوي ثم وضعنا الدالة sizeof لتعريف المحرر أننا نريد حجم المُتغير c. ثم شغلنا الكود و حصلنا على النتيجة الآتية و حجمه هو 1 بايت.

size of c = 1

 

إستخدام sizeof مع المصفوفات array

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    int array[3] = {1, 2, 3};
    printf("size of array = %d\n", sizeof(array));
    return 0;
}

قُمنا بإنشاء مصفوفة نوع int و هي array و حجمها هو 3 و قيمها هي 1, 2, 3 ثم قُمنا بطباعة كلمة size of array تساوي. ثم وضعنا الدالة sizeof لتعريف المحرر أننا نريد حجم المصفوفة array ثم شغلنا الكود و حصلنا على النتيجة الآتية و حجمها هو 12 بايت.

size of array = 12

 

مثال يجمع جميع أنواع البيانات عبر دالة sizeof

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
    int x = 23;
    double cs = 2.3;
    float s = 3.2;
    char c = 's';
    int array[3] = {1, 2, 3};
    printf("size of x = %d\n", sizeof(x));
    printf("size of cs = %d\n", sizeof(cs));
    printf("size of s = %d\n", sizeof(s));
    printf("size of c = %d\n", sizeof(c));
    printf("size of array = %d\n", sizeof(array));
    return 0;
}

لقد شرحنا كل هذا في الأمثلة و جمعناها لكم في كود واحد و عند تشغيل هذا الكود ستكون النتيجة هي

size of x = 4
size of cs = 8
size of s = 4
size of c = 1
size of array = 12

نُلاحظ من خلال نافذة الإخراج output السابقة أن حجم المتغير الذي نوعه int هو 4 بايت في الذاكرة أي يقوم بحجز 4 بايت. و المتغير من نوع float يقوم أيضاً بحجز 4 بايت في الذاكرة. أما المُتغير من نوع double يقوم بحجز 8 بايت من الذاكر أي انه ضعف الـ float لأنه دبل. أما المتغير الحرفي يتسع لحرف واحد فقط لهذا تم حجز فقط 1 بايت في الذاكرة. و في النهاية وضعنا مصفوفة عددية بها ثلاث قيم و عند الطباعة أعطانا أنها تقوم بحجز 12 بايت من الذاكرة. أي لأن نوعها int و النوع int يقوم بحجز 4 بايت من الذاكرة و بها ثلاث قيم من نوع int أي 4+4+4 يساوي 12.


Tags:
Saja Alsadig

Saja Alsadig

من السودان مبرمجة مواقع ويب و تطبيقات أندرويد اتقن لغات "html, css, php, js" بالإضافة للتعامل مع اندرويد ستوديو و بناء التطبيقات, مهتمة بمجال التقنية منذ الصغر و كان لدي شقف كبير للدخول بالجامعه بقسم البرمجة و دخلته في عام 2013 و تعلمت كل شيئ ضمن الجامعة و خارجها من التعليم الذاتي و اتمنى أن أكون عند حسن ظن الجميع و إيصال الأمانة لكم, اعمل حاليا في إدارة موقع جامعة السودان.